Colorado Capitol Watch


Welcome Visitor

Forgot password?
Subscribe for Current Session

My CCW Tools

Look Up Bills

Look Up Legislators

Legislative Year: 2019 Change

Bill Detail: HB19-1298

Return to list of bills

emailSend an email to your legislator

Title Electric Motor Vehicle Charging Station Parking
Status Governor Signed (05/31/2019)
Bill Subjects
  • Transportation & Motor Vehicles
House Sponsors J. Melton (D)
Senate Sponsors K. Priola (R)
House Committee Energy and Environment
Senate Committee Business, Labor and Technology
Date Introduced 04/01/2019

The bill authorizes the owner of a plug-in electric motor vehicle
(electric vehicle) charging station to install a sign that identifies the
station. If the sign is installed, a person is prohibited from:
  • Parking in the space if the vehicle is not an electric vehicle;
  • Using the charging station for parking if the electric vehicle

is not charging.
An electric vehicle is rebuttably presumed to not be charging if
the electric vehicle is parked in a charging station and is not electrically
connected to the charger for longer than 30 minutes. A person may park
an electric vehicle at a charging station after the electric vehicle is fully
charged in a parking lot:
  • That serves a lodging business if the person is a client of
the lodging business and has parked the electric vehicle in
the lot to charge overnight;
  • That serves an airport if the person is a client of the airport
and has parked the electric vehicle in the lot to charge
when traveling; or
  • Between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
The penalty for a violation is a $350 fine and a $64 surcharge.

Committee Reports
with Amendments
Full Text
Full Text of Bill (pdf) (most recent)
Fiscal Notes Fiscal Notes (07/10/2019) (most recent)  
Additional Bill Documents Bill Documents
  • Past bill versions
  • Past fiscal notes
  • Committee activity and documents
  • Bill History
Lobbyists Lobbyists
Audio [This feature is available by subscription.]  
Votes House and Senate Votes
Vote Totals Vote Totals by Party
border   border
Copyright © 2019 State Capitol Watch