Colorado Capitol Watch


Welcome Visitor

Forgot password?
Subscribe for Current Session

My CCW Tools

Look Up Bills

Look Up Legislators

Legislative Year: 2020 Change

Bill Detail: HB20-1354

Return to calendar

emailSend an email to your legislator

Title Film Production Income Tax Credit
Status House Committee on Business Affairs & Labor Postpone Indefinitely (05/27/2020)
Bill Subjects
  • Business & Economic Development
  • Fiscal Policy & Taxes
House Sponsors D. Esgar (D)
L. Herod (D)
Senate Sponsors N. Todd (D)
House Committee Business Affairs and Labor
Senate Committee
Date Introduced 03/06/2020

The bill creates the film, television, and media tax credit. The
credit is available to a production company employing a workforce of at
least 50% Colorado residents for production activities in the state. For
production activities in a prioritized area, defined to mean a
nonmetropolitan county or municipality with a population of 150,000 or
less, the credit is up to 22% of the total qualified local expenditures. For

production activities not in a prioritized area, the credit is up to 18% of
the qualified local expenditures. The credit must be authorized and issued
by the Colorado office of film, television, and media. Once issued, the
credits may be used in the year issued or carried forward by the
production company for up to 5 income tax years. The credits may also
be transferred to another taxpayer to be used or carried forward as a credit
against that taxpayer's income tax liability. The office of economic
development is required to establish a system to track and verify the
issuance, transfer, and ownership of the credits.

Committee Reports
with Amendments
Full Text
Full Text of Bill (pdf) (most recent)
Fiscal Notes Fiscal Notes (05/26/2020) (most recent)  
Additional Bill Documents Bill Documents
  • Past bill versions
  • Past fiscal notes
  • Committee activity and documents
  • Bill History
Lobbyists Lobbyists
Audio [This feature is available by subscription.]  
Votes House and Senate Votes
Vote Totals Vote Totals by Party
border   border
Copyright © 2019 State Capitol Watch